You are here


The Young Professionals Program (YPP) targets High Potential, best-in-class talent young professionals with a strong passion for Africa’s development.  The Program offers exceptional career opportunities to talented young professionals with leadership potential, an established record of outstanding academic and professional achievement to make a difference to the development of the African continent. 

It is a three-year leadership opportunity for the development of Bank’s future workforce and leaders.  The Bank aims attract highly qualified and motivated professionals from our member countries for a productive and rewarding career path in development.

Through the YPP, the Bank ensures continuity and excellence in both the management of its work programs and the provision of policy advice to its RMCs.

The Bank aims to offer this opportunity to 30 candidates for the 2020 cohort.

The Bank is an equal opportunity employer. To this end, we are committed to achieving and maintaining a diverse workforce that reflects our diversity


Our Strategy   

The African Development Bank’s Strategy for 2013–2022 reflects the aspirations of the entire African continent. It is firmly rooted in a deep understanding and experience of how far Africa has come in the last decade, and where it wishes to go to in the next. 
This strategy places the Bank on a path to maintain its role as a key player in Africa's quest to achieve substantial economic development and social cohesion (Inclusive Growth), while promoting the sustainable use of all natural resources (Green Growth). 
The twin objectives are supported by five operational priorities and three areas of cross-cutting emphasis (fragile states, food security and gender) in which the Bank has comparative advantage and trust. 
The Bank seeks to position itself at the 'center of Africa's transformation'. 


About the Bank

Established in 1964, the African Development Bank Group is the premier pan-African development institution, promoting economic growth and social progress across the continent. There are 80 member states, including 54 in Africa (Regional Member Countries).  The African Development Bank (AfDB) Group comprises three entities: The African Development Bank, the African Development Fund and the Nigeria Trust Fund.
The overarching objective of the Bank is to spur sustainable economic development and social progress in its regional member countries (RMCs), thus contributing to poverty reduction.  The Bank Group achieves this objective by:

  • Mobilizing and allocating resources for investment in RMCs; and
  • Providing policy advice and technical assistance to support development efforts.

The Bank is headquartered in Abidjan, has 5 Business Regional Resource Offices, 30 Country offices, 5 Program Offices and a Liaison Office on Japan.