• Kigali is the capital city of Rwanda and has been around since 1907, initially serving as a small colonial outpost.
  • Kigali City is divided into three districts – Gasabo, Kicukiro and Nyarugenge – and is inhabited by one million people.
  • Kigali is 70% urban with a population that is relatively young – the youth make up about 60% and women make slightly more than 50%.
  • Kigali City is among the safest and friendliest of African capitals, conveniently located within three hours’ drive of the main tourist sites.
  • Located in Gisozi, Kigali Genocide Memorial Centre is the burial site for around 250,000 victims of the 1994 genocide perpetrated against Tutsi, and comprises of a main historical exhibition, a Children’s Memorial exhibition and an exhibition on comparative genocide called Wasted Lives.

Places of Worship


  • Catholics (St. Michel, St. Paul, St. Famille all in Kiyovu).
  • Protestants (EER Biryogo in Kiyovu and EAR Remera).
  • Born-again Christians (Zion temple in Gatenga, Christian Life Assembly CLA in Nyarutarama, Miracle Centre Remera, Women Foundation Ministries in Kimihurura, Apostle Church Kabeza and Healing Centre in Remera).
  • Pentecostal (BETHEL Remera).

Islamic mosques

  • Alfat’ha and Alhidaya in Nyamirambo
  • Madina in the city centre
  • Qud’s in Kacyiru and Remera Mosques
You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.