You are here

Algeria - National Climate Change Profile


The People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria (henceforth ‘Algeria’) is a North African country bounded by the Mediterranean in the North and the Sahara Desert in the South. Algeria is bordered by Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Tunisia and Western Sahara and is the largest state in Africa in terms of total geographic size. The economy of Algeria is strongly reliant on the export of gas and petroleum products, as well as exports of speciality agricultural produce (~8.8% of the workforce is in agriculture) and minerals such as iron, zinc and copper.

Related Sections