You are here

2011-2015 - Central Africa - Regional Integration Strategy Paper (RISP)


The integration vision for an African Economic Community through five geographic regions was recommended by the Abuja Treaty (1991)1 . To streamline the existing multiple blocs in these regions, the African Union identified eight Regional Economic Communities (RECs) in its rationalization drive. The integration vision seeks to attain collective autonomy and contribute to raising the living standards of the population through the expansion of African markets and increased trade between Africa and the world.

Related Sections