You are here

Eritrea - Drought resilience and sustainable livelihoods project phase V – ESMP Summary


Eritrea is one of the Greater Horn of Africa countries. It borders the Red Sea (to north-east and east), Sudan (north-west), Ethiopia (south) and Djibouti (south-east). It has a surface area of about 125,000 square km of which 117,600 km2 constitute land surface area. Of the 117,600 km2 , only 17% is arable land for rain-fed agriculture while the rest are arid and semi-arid lands (ASALs) also known as rangelands or drylands that cover about 83% and receive up to 450 mm of rainfall per year. These rangelands can be converted into agricultural production through alternative means that includes irrigation.

Related Sections