You are here

Kenya - Green zones development support project-Phase II - Appraisal Report


The proposed Green Zones Development Support Project-Phase II will be implemented in fifteen counties in Kenya namely; Embu, Meru, Machakos, Tharaka-Nithi, Nyeri, Murang’a, Kirinyaga, Kiambu, Nyandarua, Nakuru, Baringo, Kericho, Bomet, Nyamira and Kisii. These counties cover four forest conservancies1 and three out of five Kenya’s water towers including Mt. Kenya, Aberdares, and the Mau complex. The counties were selected based on levels of forest degradation, social economic and environmental vulnerability. The project comprises three main components (i) Forest Conservation and Livelihood Support (ii) Sustainable and Inclusive Value Chains Development and (iii) Project Management and Coordination. The project will focus on increasing the national forest cover and household incomes through rehabilitation of degraded forests, improvement of forest infrastructure and community capacities and livelihoods in the target counties. The project will be implemented over a period of 6 years (2018-2024) and will be executed by the Ministry of Environment and Forestry (MoEF) through the Kenya Forest Service (KFS). The KFS was one of the implementing agencies for the completed Bank-funded Green Zones Development Support Project-Phase 1 (2006-2014)

Related Sections