You are here

DRC - National Climate Change Profile


The Democratic Republic of the Congo (henceforth ‘the DRC’, shown below in Figure 1-1) is a hot and humid country in Central Africa, lying across the equator. The DRC borders the Central African Republic and South Sudan to the north; Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania to the east; Zambia and Angola to the south; the Republic of the Congo to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the southwest. It is the second largest country in Africa by area (2,266,000 km2) and the fourth most populous (~82,200,000 people) country in Africa. Approximately 38% of the DRC’s population is urban, of which ~75% are living in informal settlements, and ~13.5% of the total population have access to electricity Despite the country’s relatively large total GDP (14th largest in Africa at ~35 billion USD per year), the DRC has a relatively low GDP per capita (~445 USD per year, ranked 43rd in Africa).

Related Sections