You are here

Guinea - National Climate Change Profile


The Republic of Guinea (henceforth ‘Guinea’, Figure 1- 1 below) is a coastal country in West Africa, which extends from the Atlantic Ocean coastline of the Guinea Lowlands, inland towards the east and south interior and rises up towards the Guinea Highlands region. The Guinea highlands are the watershed sources of several of West Africa’s major rivers, notably the Niger, Gambia and Senegal Rivers. Guinea’s borders are shared by Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, and Mali to the north, and by Sierra Leone, Liberia, and Côte d'Ivoire to the south.

Related Sections