You are here

Niger - National Climate Change Profile


The Republic of Niger (henceforth ‘Niger’, shown below in Figure 1-1) is a landlocked country in West Africa. Niger is bordered by Libya to the northeast, Chad to the east, Nigeria and Benin to the south, Burkina Faso and Mali to the west, and Algeria to the northwest. Niger covers a land area of almost 1,270,000 km2, making it the largest country in West Africa, with over 80 percent of its land area covered by the Sahara Desert. Niger has a population of ~21,500,000 people, ~18% of which are urban. Niger’s urban population is proportionally one of the smallest in Africa, however at present the country has the 6th fastest urbanisation rate on the continent (5.3%) and the fastest population growth rate (~4.1%).

Related Sections