The 2019 Annual Meetings of the African Development Bank Group will be held from 11-14 June 2019, in Malabo, Republic of Equatorial Guinea. Find out more

Eight candidates in the running for the next AfDB Presidency submit their vision for the Bank and Africa

Share |

The eight candidates in the running for the election of the next President of the African Development Bank have submitted their vision statements for the Bank and the continent. The vision statements have been published on each candidate’s respective profile page on the African Development Bank website,, and may be accessed by clicking on the name of the candidate in the links provided below.

The official list of candidates, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

1. Akinwumi A. ADESINA            Nigeria

2. Sufian AHMED                          Ethiopia

3. Jaloul AYED                              Tunisia

4. Kordjé BEDOUMRA                Chad

5. Cristina DUARTE                     Cabo Verde

6. Samura M. W. KAMARA         Sierra Leone

7. Thomas Z. SAKALA                Zimbabwe

8. Birama Boubacar SIDIBE   Mali

For more information about the timeline and procedures of the election process, please visit: 

Media hotline:   +225 03 80 80 90

All email inquiries regarding the process should be directed to

Related Sections


You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.