Fifth CoDA Board meeting in Port Louis

Share |

Date: 19/11/2010
Location: Port Louis, Mauritius

Tunis, 15 November 2010 - The Board of Directors of the Coalition for Dialogue on Africa (CODA), an initiative supported by the African Development Bank (AfDB), the African Union (AU) and the UN Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) will hold its fifth regular session on November 19, 2010 in Port Louis, Mauritius.

During the session, the Council, chaired by former Botswana President, Festus Mogae, will discuss CoDA’s place, role and value-added agenda on regional integration in Africa.

The CoDA Council was last May in Abidjan, on the sidelines of the annual meetings of the AfDB, charged to undertake advocacy on regional integration with key African leaders.

"Regional integration is a priority for the three major institutions (AfDB, AU and ECA) that support CoDA. That is why the Council paid special attention to the subject during two consecutive sessions, "said Lamin Manneh, the Regional Economic Communities (RECs) Liaison Office head at the AfDB.

A report on CoDA’s participation at the 7th African Development Forum on climate change will be presented.

During the 7th forum, held from 11 to 15 October in Addis Ababa, Mr Festus Mogae chaired a one-day session on "Exploring ways to meet the challenges of climate change.”

The Port Louis meeting will be an opportunity to review the Council’s 2010 activities and define its agenda and work program for 2011. The Council will also review the new CoDA executive director’s recruitment process.

As an independent, international and open structure, CoDA aims to play an active role, through action and reflection, seeking solutions to major challenges in Africa such as good governance, the fight against climate change, regional integration, security and food self-sufficiency.

Since its creation in March 2009 in Addis Ababa, the CoDA has organized seminars in various African countries on transnational crime and its consequences, financial crisis, regional integration and climate change.

Besides former president Festus Mogae, CoDA Board members are: Mohammed El-Baradei, former Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Cheick Modibo Diarra, Microsoft Chairman for the Middle East and Africa, Walter Fust, CEO of Global Humanitarian Forum, Frene Ginwala, former president of the National Assembly of South Africa, Mo Ibrahim, Chairman of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation, Dr. Speciosa Wandira Kazibwe, former Vice- President of Uganda, Paul Martin, former Prime Minister of Canada and Martin Khor, Director of Third World Network.

The AfDB President, Donald Kaberuka, AU Commission Chair, Jean Ping and the Executive Secretary of ECA, Abdoulie Janneh, are also full members of the CoDA Council.

Professor Abdoulaye Bathily coordinates CoDA activities and serves on its Board.

You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.