UN Peace Building Commission and AfDB Establish Partnership to Promote Peace Building Recovery and Development

Share |

A delegation from the United Nations Peace Building Commission visited the African Development Bank (AfDB) in Tunis on Friday, 11 November. Both institutions have agreed to establish a structured partnership with one another in support of the peace-building recovery and development efforts of some of the AfDB's conflict and crises affected regional member countries. Initial areas of cooperation will cover youth employment, policy dialogue, advocacy and resource mobilisation. The two institutions also plan to take forward the outcomes of the recent Kigali High-Level Meeting on Peace and State Building: the Rwanda Experience held in the Rwandan capital on 8 and 9 November.

Delegation members included Ambassador Eugene-Richard Gasana, Permanent Representative of Rwanda to the United Nations and Chair of the UN Peace Building Commission; and Commission Vice Chair, Ambassador Gert Rosenthal, Permanent Representative of Guatemala to the United Nations.

Others were Ambassador Jun Yamazaki, representing the Permanent Representative of Japan to the United Nations and Chair of the Peace Building Commission's Working Group on Lessons Learned; and Judy Cheng-Hopkins, UN Assistant Secretary General for Peace building Support.

Various ambassadors to the United Nations, representing the Peace Building Commission's different country configurations, also formed the high powered delegation. Ambassador Paul Seger, Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the United Nations chairs the Commission's Burundi Configuration. His Belgian counterpart, Ambassador Jan Grauls is Chair of the Commission's configuration with the Central African Republic, while Ambassadors Sylvie Lucas of Luxembourg and Guillermo Rishchynski of Canada are chairs of the Commission's configurations with Guinea and Sierra Leone, respectively.

The high powered delegation was received by AfDB President Donald Kaberuka, who assured them of the Bank's collaboration. The delegation held several working sessions with the AfDB's Fragile States Unit, a general session with AfDB senior officials, and bilateral meetings covering the six countries on the Peace Building Commission's agenda. These six countries are: Burundi, the Central African Republic, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, and Sierra Leone. There were also discussions with officials of the Bank's regional departments.

The Rwandan Government called on the AfDB to support the organisation of the country's recent high-level peace building forum, which it held to share its experience with others.

You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.