The 2019 Annual Meetings of the African Development Bank Group will be held from 11-14 June 2019, in Malabo, Republic of Equatorial Guinea. Find out more

Non-Sovereign guaranteed Loans for public & private sectors

Public sector enterprises

Non-Sovereign Guaranteed Loans to Public-Sector Enterprises (Public-Sector NSGLs) are made to public enterprises that meet specific eligibility criteria, without the requirement of a sovereign guarantee by the host government.

Eligible Countries

Eligible countries for Public-Sector NSGLs are regional member countries (RMC) classified either as AfDB countries or Blend countries. As of 1 January 2012, Blend countries include: Nigeria; AfDB countries  include: Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, Cape Verde, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Angola, Namibia, Botswana, South Africa, Swaziland, Mauritius, Seychelles.

Eligible Sectors

Under NSGLs operations, the Bank may provide assistance to a public sector enterprise engaged in activities in any sector, including, but not limited to, manufacturing, infrastructure, extractive industries, energy, and other productive activities, provided that the enterprise meet the eligibility criteria.

Private sector enterprises

To be eligible for financing, an enterprise should be privately owned and managed, meaning that more than 50% of its voting shares must be in private hands.

Terms and Conditions

Loan pricing consists of a base rate and a risk adjusted lending margin. Other fees such as front-end fees, commitment fees, appraisal fees are also applicable for non-sovereign loans.

Non-Sovereign Guaranteed Bank loans generally have a maximum maturity of 15 years inclusive of the grace period. Other maturities can be considered on a case by case basis for non-sovereign guaranteed loans.

You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.