Vous êtes ici

Compact with Africa Presentation

The Compact with Africa (CwA) was initiated by the German presidency in the G-20 Finance Track, and endorsed by the G-20 finance ministers and central bank governors in Baden-Baden in March 2017, to promote private investment in Africa, including in infrastructure. Central to the CwA is the concept of mutual commitments to measures and instruments to improve the framework conditions for private investment. The aim is to develop comprehensive, coordinated, and country specific Investment Compacts between individual African countries, international organizations (IOs), and other partners. The current CwA countries are Benin, Cote d’Ivoire, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea, Morocco, Rwanda, Senegal, Togo and Tunisia. The Investment Compacts specify measures and instruments to improve: (i) the Macroeconomic Framework, (ii) the Business Framework, and (iii) the Financing Framework.

The AfDB has been centrally involved in the CwA and is one of the three international organizations (IOs), along with the IMF and World Bank, who have been coordinating the initiative. The AfDB, in collaboration with the other IOs, have been accompanying the Compact countries in the development of their country investor prospectuses, and Investment Compacts which include areas of focus, government action, indicators, and targets for reform.

During the inaugural Africa Investment Forum, His Excellency Dr. Seleleshi Bekele, Minister of Water, Irrigation and Electricity in Ethiopia and Mr. Sabati Cisse, Directeur Général of the Ministry of Petroleum, Energy and Development of Renewable Energies, Côte d'Ivoire presented a progress report on energy sector action items deriving from the AEMP Joint Action Plans and the CwA Investment Compact Improvement measures. The presentations were prepared in collaboration with the Africa Energy Market Place team.